City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments


Emergency Home Repair Program to start accepting applications May 4

Eligible Kansas City, Mo., homeowners who are in urgent need of roofing, plumbing, electrical and mechanical work can apply for the City of Kansas City, Mo., Emergency Home Repair Program. Applications for homeowners who meet program requirements will be accepted starting May 4.

Applications for the Emergency Home Repair Program are available at the new Housing and Community Development Department’s Property Preservation Division office on the 11th floor of City Hall, 414 E. 12th St., and online at

“This program can bring the help lower-income homeowners need, so we are encouraging all eligible to apply, and contact the City if they need help applying,” City Councilwoman Sharon Sanders Brooks, 3rd District at large, and chairwoman of the Housing Committee said.

The Property Preservation Division of the Housing and Community Development Department administers the Emergency Home Repair Program, Home Weatherization Program, Municipal Court Fund Program (referral only) and Paint Program. Applications will be accepted through July 31.

Eligible applicants are homeowners who own only one property, have not received assistance from this program (the old Minor Home Repair Program) since Sept. 30, 1994, and meet these household income guidelines at established by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development:

One person – $24,650

Two people – $28,150

Three people – $31,700

Four people – $35,200

Five people – $38,060

Six people – $40,850

Seven people – $43,650

Eight people – $46,450.

A Community Development Block Grant established by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development funds the Emergency Home Repair Program.

For more information or to have an application mailed to you, call (816) 513-3025.

News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili