City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments

News from City Hall

City Communications Office

City of Kansas City, Mo.

CONTACT: City Communications 816-513-1349


No Christmas trash delay, City offices closed Dec. 24

The City of Kansas City, Mo. is advising residents that curbside trash and recycling services will not be delayed the week of Christmas because the holiday falls on a Saturday this year.

While trash will be collected on Friday, Dec. 24, City of Kansas City, Mo., offices and the 3-1-1 Action Center will be closed in observance of the Christmas holiday. The City of Kansas City, Mo., Household Hazardous Waste Facility will be closed Friday, Dec. 24 through Monday, Dec. 27. Customers will be able to schedule drop-off appointments during Dec. 20 – 23 and Dec. 27 – 29.

The Solid Waste Division of the Public Works Department also reminds residents that Monday, Dec. 27 through Friday, Dec. 31 is a “no tag” period for trash collection in the City. During this time, residents may set out more than two bags of trash without tags. This is done to accommodate the extra trash that is usually accumulated at this time of year. Residents are encouraged to utilize the City’s unlimited curbside recycling to dispose of cardboard and seasonal gift boxes.

Christmas trees can be disposed of at the City’s Leaf and Brush Drop-off Centers. The centers are open every Saturday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. through Jan. 15 and are located at 1815 N. Chouteau Trafficway (just south of the Missouri river) and 10301 Raytown Road (south of Interstate 470).

For more information about solid waste collection services, visit or call the 3-1-1 Action Center at 311 or 816-513-1313.

Media inquiries about trash and recycling should be directed to Dennis Gagnon, public information officer for the Public Works Department, 816-513-2659.


News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili