City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments


Committee will develop plans to reduce global warming

The Climate Protection Plan steering committee will meet for the first time Oct. 23 from 3 until 5 p.m. The meeting will be at City Hall, 414 E. 12th St., in the committee room on the 10th floor. Mayor Kay Barnes will welcome the committee members.

These are the members of the Climate Protection Plan steering committee:

    Joanne Collins, chairwoman -- former City Councilmember and past chairwoman of Mid-America Regional Council's Air Quality Forum

    J.C. Alonzo -- City Environmental Management Commission

    Bob Berkebile -- BNIM Architects

    Scott Burnett -- Jackson County Legislature

    William Downey -- Kansas City Power & Light

    Dee Evans -- Beacon Hill Neighborhood Association

    Pete Levi -- Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce

    Bob Mann -- Bridging The Gap

    Frank Pogge -- City Water Services Department

    David Warm -- Mid-America Regional Council

    Bridgette Williams -- Heart of America Labor Council, Greater Kansas City AFL-CIO.

"As we encourage City employees, local businesses and city residents to adopt more environmentally friendly lifestyles, the City must set a positive example in this area," Barnes said. "I look forward to working with this group to better enable Kansas City to become a leader in implementing responsible environmental policies."

"By bringing together this diverse group, we believe we have an excellent opportunity to plan for a more environmentally responsible future," said Dennis Murphey, chief environmental officer for the City of Kansas City, Mo.

This committee will work with Murphey to conduct an inventory of the City's existing programs and measures to reduce greenhouse emissions that contribute to global warming. The group will then establish goals and identify actions to reduce greenhouse emissions and in 2007 submit those recommendations to the City Council. The committee was appointed by Barnes after a resolution she submitted was unanimously adopted in August by the City Council.

For more information, call Dennis Murphey, the City's chief environmental officer, (816) 513-3459.

News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili