City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments

News from City Hall

City Communications Office

City of Kansas City, Mo.


Chouteau leaf and brush drop-off site opens to all residents

City’s leaf/brush disposal restrictions lifted due to quarantine expansion

The City of Kansas City, Mo., Public Works Department announces that residents may now recycle their leaf and brush at any of the City’s drop-off centers, due to the expansion of the emerald ash borer quarantine to include the entire state.

Kansas City residents may drop off leaf and brush for free on Saturdays at all three of the City’s public leaf and brush drop-off centers: 11660 N. Main St., 1815 N. Chouteau Trafficway and 10301 Raytown Road. Weekday drop-offs are allowed at the Chouteau and North Main locations for a nominal fee. These City sites are set up to properly process Ash tree wood according to federal and state guidelines, which will destroy beetles in infested wood, reduce its population and slow its spread.

The Missouri and U.S. departments of agriculture placed a quarantine on leaf and brush waste from Clay and Platte Counties last year due to an infestation of the emerald ash borer in the area. As a result, residents in the quarantined counties were restricted to using the North Main drop-off site.

The ash borer recently has been located throughout the state, expanding the quarantine and eliminating earlier restrictions on leaf and brush disposal.

The insect, which has infested trees throughout the nation, is not a threat to human or animal health but poses a risk to the region’s 4.6 million ash trees.

For information about the City’s leaf and brush drop-off centers, please visit

For more information on the emerald ash borer, please visit the city, state and national websites at:, and


News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili