City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments


Amnesty program begins Saturday

Outstanding municipal warrants eligible for the City’s upcoming Municipal Court amnesty program now are posted on the City’s Web site, By inputting their names and birthdates, citizens may obtain information about eligible outstanding warrants. A recorded message explaining the details of the program also is available at (816) 513-3240. Citizens may call this number on the days of the amnesty program with questions about their cases or eligibility for the amnesty.

The amnesty is scheduled for Oct. 11, 13 and 18. Citizens with eligible outstanding warrants will be able to pay their cases at the original fine amount at the Municipal Court building, 1101 Locust St., from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Cases also can be paid at any of the Kansas City police stations, 24-hours-a-day on the dates of the amnesty program. Late charges that have been added on to the cases will be forgiven during the amnesty.

Eligible cases will be all warrants that are payable without a court appearance, that were issued on or before Dec. 31, 2002. Payable cases include parking; non-moving; and moving violations that do not involve an accident, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, driving with suspended or revoked license, leaving the scene or eluding an officer, and careless and imprudent driving.

Cases that require a mandatory court appearance will not be eligible for the amnesty. Mandatory court appearance cases are alleged violations of the City general ordnance code with the exception of animal license and leash law violations and a limited number of first time violations of the housing code.

Following the amnesty period, the Kansas City Police Department will conduct warrant sweeps to arrest people with outstanding warrants.

News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili