City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments


Flu shots available at the Health Department

The City of Kansas City, Mo., Health Department is offering flu shots to adults and children age 3 and older. The shots are available during regular clinic hours, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday and from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Thursday at the Health Department, 2400 Troost Ave.

“To better protect the public, the manufacturers have completely reformulated the vaccine to include three new strains that are known to be circulating,” said Dr. Rex Archer, director of the Health Department. “Because of the new strains covered, it is extremely important that people get their flu shots to protect themselves and their families.”

At this time, the Health Department has not received preservative-free vaccine for small children, and vaccines for pregnant women are limited. FluMist, a nasal spray vaccine, is available at no charge for those ages 2-18 who qualify for the federal Vaccine For Children program.

The Health Department will bill Medicare Part A or B or Missouri Medicaid for those who are eligible and show proof of coverage. Anyone not eligible for these programs will be charged $20; cash and credit cards only will be accepted for payment during the regular clinics. Those with other insurance providers that cover flu vaccination should work with their providers for reimbursement.

Getting a flu shot is the best way to prevent the flu or decrease the length and severity of symptoms. Those who are vaccinated are less likely to spread the flu to their family and friends.

More information on flu shot clinics may be found at the Health Department Web site,

Media inquiries about this issue should be directed to Jeff Hershberger, Health Department, (816) 840-2548 (pager).

News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili