City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments


Architectural teams present qualifications to design arena

The two architectural teams that responded to the City’s request for qualifications to design a downtown arena will make their presentations today at Bartle Hall.

Each team will have one hour to present its qualifications to the City’s architect selection committee. Each one-hour presentation will be followed by a 45-minute question and answer session.

The presentations will be in separate meeting rooms in the Bartle Hall Conference Center, 201 W. 14th St., beginning at 9 a.m. and concluding at 1 p.m.

The two teams competing to design and engineer the downtown arena are:

    Downtown Arena Design Team – Formed by HOK, Ellerbe Becket, 360 Architecture, and Rafael Architects.

    Gehry/Crawford – Formed by Frank Gehry and Crawford Architecture.

Each team will provide a media briefing upon concluding their formal presentation to the selection committee. The Downtown Arena Design Team media briefing will begin at noon, and the Gehry/Crawford media briefing will begin at approximately 1:45 p.m.

The criteria as outlined by the City in its request for qualifications for an architect included a thorough knowledge of arena projects and experience in designing facilities comparable to the one planned by Kansas City. The arena must be designed to NBA and NHL specifications; be versatile, flexible, and multi-functional; and be comparable and competitive with recently completed facilities within the greater Midwest region. The arena will house the College Basketball Hall of Fame.

There are eight voting members of the architect selection committee, including Mayor Kay Barnes; City Manager Wayne A. Cauthen; City Councilman Terry Riley, 5th District; Assistant City Manager Rich Noll; Stan Harris, acting director of the Public Works Department; Oscar McGaskey, director of the Convention and Entertainment Centers Department; Tom Murphy, Sprint vice president; and Jim Haney, representative of the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

There are six non-voting advisory members on the selection committee.

After the selection committee has made its decision and both teams have been notified, the City will announce the selected team to the news media and public.

News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili