City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments


Parking enforcement changes scheduled

The City of Kansas City, Mo., Public Works Department Parking Service Division will begin enforcing parking violations in portions of downtown and metered areas on June 25.

The effected area lies between 10th Street on the north, State Line Road on the west, Central Avenue on the east and Truman Road on the south. The east side of Central Avenue and the south side of Truman Road will continue to be the responsibility of the Kansas City Police Department’s Parking Control Unit.

Kansas City, Mo., Police Department trained Parking Services enforcement officers, who have the legal authority to write tickets for parking violations. Tickets issued by Parking Services will be processed the same way as parking tickets issued by the Police Department.

Parking Services was formed in anticipation of the redevelopment of downtown, changes in on-street parking and the construction of additional City-owned parking garages. Parking Services also will manage the City's parking meters and garages, and coordinate event parking and valet operations. Parking Services plans to increase the variety of parking solutions to improve parking downtown.

"By managing on-street parking and City-owned parking structures as a unified parking solution, the City can more easily and effectively adjust its parking solutions to meet changing market conditions," said Anderson Moore, manager of Parking Services. "This is a much different approach than focusing on putting tickets on windshields. It's customer focused while considering the larger picture."

For more information about the Parking Services Division, visit

Media inquiries about the Parking Services Division should be directed to Dennis Gagnon, public information officer for the Public Works Department, (816) 513-2659.

News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili