City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments

CONTACT: Tanya Allen, Acting Emergency Manager, (816) 513-1392

City eligible for federal aid

The City of Kansas City, Mo., is eligible for federal funding under a federal disaster declaration issued today by President George W. Bush. The declaration makes funding available to state and eligible local governments in 14 Missouri counties, including Cass, Clay, Jackson and Platte. The funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency protective measures at 75 percent federal funding. Federal funding also is available on a cost-share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

“This will go a long way toward helping local governments recover some of the costs of the disaster response. Individuals, families and small businesses also will benefit from the declaration,” said Tanya Allen, Acting Emergency Manager.

Tornado victims in 39 Missouri counties, including Cass, Clay, Jackson and Platte, also can apply for federal assistance. The aid can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance beginning tomorrow by calling (800) 621-FEMA (3362) or (800) 462-7585 (TYY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili