City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments

News from City Hall

City Communications Office

City of Kansas City, Mo.

CONTACT: City Communications Office, 816-513-1349


Mayoral and Council inauguration details announced

The City of Kansas City, Mo., will hold the Ceremonial Inauguration for Mayor-Elect Sly James and City Council members at 9:30 a.m. on Monday, May 2, 2011 in the City Council Chambers on the 26th floor of City Hall. During the inauguration, Mayor James will deliver his inaugural address. A public reception will follow in the first floor rotunda of City Hall.

Details concerning a larger public inaugural celebration will be released in a separate news release today.

As a convenience, information regarding the Inauguration, the public Inauguration celebration and parking recommendations for these events will be posted at beginning April 25.

In addition to the Ceremonial Inauguration on May 2, in order to comply with sec. 204 of the City Charter, a non-ceremonious swearing in will take place Sunday, May 1, 2011 at 2 p.m. at City Hall in the first floor rotunda area. The rotunda has limited capacity for the public. Therefore, it is recommended that the public attend the Ceremonial Inauguration on May 2.

Sec. 204 (f) of the City Charter states: “Grounds for forfeiture of office. No person shall assume office as a member of the Council, including as Mayor, if any grounds for forfeiture of office as provided in this Charter exist. Failure to assume office on May 1 or within fifteen days of being elected at a special election or appointed to office will result in the office to which elected or appointed being deemed vacant.”

Media inquiries about the inauguration should be directed to the City Clerk, Vickie Thompson-Carr at 816-513-3360.


News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili