Rental property registration is required by City ordinance 071046 as of 2008. All occupied rental housing units within the City limits of Kansas City, Missouri must be registered with the City between Dec. 1 and Jan. 31 (unoccupied structures are registered separately). There is no cost to register property within that time frame, but it must be registered or renewed each year. New rental property must be registered within 30 days of the change in ownership.
You must register online. Contact Caroline McClain at 816-513-9010 or email@example.com if you have questions, or need assistance with registration.
Penalties for failure to register
Failing to register by Feb. 1 will result in a $50 penalty for each month (or portion thereof) that the property is not registered or renewed, up to a maximum of $500. If your rental property is discovered by City officials to be unregistered, you can also receive an administrative fine of up to $200 for failure to register under 56-375.
Registration renewal may be done anytime during December or January. There is no registration fee if renewal is completed in a timely manner. Renewal is a simple process if no information has changed; login with the username/password issued originally, check the box near the bottom of the screen that says "I have verified that all of the above information is correct." and hit Submit.
A rental dwelling is any property that contains a dwelling or rooming unit that is being offered for rent or is being rented or occupied by any person who is not the owner of the premises. However, property occupied by a child, grandchild, mother, father, sibling, mother-in-law, father-in-law or grandparent of the owner is not considered rental property. In addition, duplex dwellings in which one of the units is owner-occupied are not considered rental dwellings for the purposes of this program. Registration of rental properties is keyed to the ownership of each property; you may register several properties on one application as long as they are under one ownership.
Changes to a registration include the sale of a registered property, the acquisition of a non-registered property, and the acquisition of a property registered under a different owner. Occupied rental properties must be registered within 30 days of purchase. Vacant properties that become active rental properties must be re-registered as rentals within 30 days of the tenant taking possession.